Ok players and Rules Freaks-

How many people don't use vehicles because it is worthless to build something that could get scrapped at the first hit regardless if it has 3A and ECM!?!?!

Well, you probably do this because the card reads, "If vehicle is damaged, roll a die. On a 5 or 6, scarp it." Pretty basic, except for one ambiguous term, "Damaged."

I ask you all what does this term mean to you? Is a Mech damaged when it has counters on it after the battle? Yes. Is that same mech damaged when in the course of resolving that battle the opponent assign 4 damage to that mech and places the damage counters in front of the mech (way we did in undergrad to keep people honest) to remember where her damage has been dealt? That is up to discussion. 

In Contract Law if you have a disagreement about the terms or the wording of a contract the court will resolve the dispute by following a four-part analysis:

FIRST: Examine the wording of the document itself (the four corners legal theory) to see if the meaning can be gleaned from the context or from other words that are suitably defined. 

SECOND: Look at the past course of performance of the parties (WotC) as they have dealt with this exact issue in the past. 

THIRD: Ask what has been the course of dealing with the parties (WotC) as they have approached similar problems of ambiguity in their past history

FINALLY: Look for the standard trade usage of the term. The Court will apply the U.C.C.§1-205 which only asks that there is a “regularity of observance” which need not be “ancient, memorial, universal, or trade custom.”

Under STEP:

1) There is nothing on the four corners of the card that further explains at the exact moment that a mech “IS DAMAGED”.

2) When WotC decided the contract issue, exact same topic, they said that a mech “ “receives damage” at the time that damage is allocated by opposing units and if 5 or higher the contract gets scrapped.

3) The card Battalion Support has the same text “When that site is damaged, opponent may chose to redirect 1 damage to an infantry counter for each infantry counter on that site, scrapping those counters.” So, when do you start scrapping the counters? When the damage is assigned or to prevent the damage from applying to the sites structure e.g. when it is resolved?

4) Last analysis, if you all had wounded units running around the patrol region what would you call them? Damaged? Now would you call those same units damaged if during the course of a battle they were “dealt 3 damage” but all that damage was absorbed by the armor, so at the resolution of the mission your unit had no counters on it? 

So, according to my legal analysis I believe that the players “trade/game usage” should govern over the free-births at WotC that can’t write card text in a simple straight forward manner. A reminder to you all. “Contract ambiguity is always construed against the drafter.” It would be an injustice to hold an innocent party liable for the present ambiguity when the power was in the drafter to clarify without undue burden.

Hope you all can appreciate my legal treatise and have time to go through the list and find card text that may answer the questions that I have posed.
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